The Finale

Why should Moz send me to MozCon2016? I’ve provided you with three simple reasons:

  1. It’s not about me, it’s about the cause.
  2. It’s not about SEO, it’s about bringing your product to market.
  3. It’s not about getting something for free, it’s about building strategic relationships.

Allow me to explain…

Nope, Not Gonna Do It

It’s not about me, it’s about the cause.

In my first post I told you what I would not do. Even though this is a contest and the Moz team needs to know why I should win, I don’t believe the answer is how badly I need to get caught up on the industry, how cute my dog is, or how many SEO industry events I’ve attended in the past.

It’s About the Cause.

I listen to the Einstein sales teams discussing the importance of SEO with prospective clients.  Many prospects understand that the world of marketing has evolved, making the Internet a pivotal channel even for seemingly insulated industries. If a dental office relies heavily on referral business and this tactic has worked without considering an online strategy in the past, why change now?

Making the leap from diagnosis to treatment is difficult for many seasoned healthcare and legal professionals. They drudge along with websites and online strategies that are out of touch with reality, then wonder what magic bullet they need to jumpstart business.

giphy

As us SEOs know, many businesses fall into this “magic bullet” trap.

This is where the “Cause” comes in. SEO is confusing. SEO is complicated. SEO is manipulative. SEO takes time. SEO success is difficult to measure in ways that mean something to a non-SEO thinker.

Those outside our industry have difficulty grasping the severity of the choice to ignore SEO or relegate it to something a cousin or good friend does for them. My argument to these folks is “let’s stop thinking about SEO as a novel tactic, let’s recognize that SEO is simply how you bring your product or service to the market in modern day.”

Marketing = Research + Strategy

It’s not about SEO, it’s about bringing your product to market.

In my second post I explained that my firm, Einstein Industries, takes a scientific approach to artful communication. We begin all strategic discussions with a thorough analysis of the situation. Our firm utilizes Moz tools and follows Moz commentary for this reason. Opinions are fine, but data supported by consumer behavior analysis is far more actionable!

As I explained in my post:

Research helps marketers transform fear into focus.

So any time I hear a sales member struggling to help a business owner recognize the value of building a solid SEO foundation, I think of Yoda.

giphy (1)

Moz data analysis tools help SEOs transform prospect fear into focus.

Strip away the digital, the SEO, the unknown, the Millenial… We’re talking about marketing. Marketing in a new world.

This is my favorite WhiteBoard Friday because Rand builds a bridge between these two concepts: traditional marketing and the digital (SEO) world.

Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 1.51.49 PM

I believe so strongly that small business marketers need to use Moz tools that I put together this SlideShare:

Roger, Meet Einstein

It’s not about getting something for free, it’s about building strategic relationships.

In my third post I introduced our two icons to each other. Moz has developed a strong culture and Roger is a wonderful representation of the fun and scientific sides of the firm.

Einstein Industries is a Moz client and Rand Fishkin fan. It is only natural that our analytically-minded creatives would find Moz a valuable resource. Our team jumps from technical conversations to consumer behavior conversations in a heartbeat, taking both the art & science of marketing into account when building conversion-maximizing websites.

What Have You Done for Me Lately?

If (when) I attend MozCon2016, I will represent the entire Einstein team. And Team Einstein does not take without giving something back. It’s just who we are. 

So yes, I will tweet like mad before, during, and after the event. All with a focus on sharing valuable information and bringing more folks into the Moz fold.

giphy (2)

I will also continue to dig into Moz tools, as will my colleagues. I am looking forward to bringing back tips & tricks for the Einstein team.

giphy (3)

So please Moz! Please send me to MozCon2016. I look forward to building the relationship between our two firms.

Best regards,

Kristen

kristen.colwell@gmail.com

P.S.

Here’s a picture of my adorable dog Claire, you can find her on Instagram @Claire_apy:

Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 9.27.15 AM

 

Leave a Reply

